A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


The Only Pasta Salad Recipe You’ll Ever Need
August 2, 2010, 6:59 pm
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , , ,

I think I’ve finally perfected the pasta salad. My life is now complete.

I made a pasta salad for a barbecue last month that was creamy (thanks to Vegenaise) but ultimately a bit bland. This weekend, I made one that eschewed the ‘naise and used a great vinaigrette to tie it together instead, and I tell you, it’s wonderful. Here’s the approximate recipe, which I made up on the fly (always the best way to cook).

Mediterranean Pasta Salad

Pasta, half a package. I like spirals but penne would work too, and I prefer veggie kinds (tomato, spinach, etc.) to plain ol’ pasta. The color and flavors are much more interesting.
Asparagus, half a bunch
1 red bell pepper
1 orange bell pepper

Artichokes, marinated, one jar
Handful of grape tomatoes, halved
Olives, sliced, one can
Soy feta, quarter to half a round
Salt and pepper to taste
Herbs to taste (basil, oregano, thyme)
Vinaigrette of your choice (I suggest something with some punch. I used the sun-dried tomato and garlic flavor from Organicville. Highly recommend!)

Boil the pasta per package directions, drain, cool slightly.
Quarter the bell peppes and arrange with asparagus on a cookie sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and broil in the oven until the asparagus is tender and the peppers are just about to brown/blacken. (I had to remove the asparagus before the peppers—you don’t want to overcook it.)
Chop the artichoke into quarters.
Combine all ingredients, crumbling the feta as you add it. Let sit for at least half an hour to let the flavors get to know each other.  Serve chilled or room temp.

I’m seriously, people. This pasta salad got a rave review and I think it would be a great addition to your next picnic or cookout. Cheers!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds good.

Comment by CultureChoc2010

For hottest news you have too pay a quick visit internet and on the web I
found this site as a best web page for latest updates.

Comment by sugar daddy for sugar baby

Ѕatellites are tiny object orbiting around lɑrger objects.

Comment by Bridgette




Leave a Reply

