A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


When a Vegan Wants Pizza …
April 8, 2010, 3:08 pm
Filed under: Bars/restaurants, Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , ,

… she should make her own. I trekked to Café Viva on the Upper West Side last night in order to sample their vegan pizza slices, many of which sound utterly delicious. I was hoping to try one that used a vegan cheese because sometimes you just need a tasty, cheesy treat.

 

Alas, at 6pm on a Wednesday night most of the slices, vegan or otherwise, were gone and I had to settle. I got the Naturale, with organic tomato sauce, tofu marinated in miso, eggplant, zucchini, red pepper, and spinach on a whole wheat crust.

The crust was great! The rest? Meh, pretty bland. I really don’t feel tofu makes a good stand-in for cheese. Next time I want to indulge, I’m baking my own pie. With Daiya!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

mmmm, i love making homemade pizza. damn, now i’m hungry…
~wendy
http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

Comment by conradvisionquest

It LOOKS yummy. That should count for something.

Comment by Cockroach!




Leave a Reply

