A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Finally Got My Hands on Daiya Cheese
March 3, 2010, 2:05 pm
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , ,

The vegan world has been all a-flutter about Daiya, a new non-dairy cheese since its debut last year. As I’ve reported here before, the waves of enthusiasm seemed to roll out from the West Coast to the East over last summer and fall. Blogger upon blogger fell under the spell of its melty, gooey goodness. No soy aftertaste! No casein (a milk protein found in most otherwise-vegan cheeses)!

Daiya was until recently only available for purchase in bulk from online shops but it’s beginning to appear on shelves at places such as Whole Foods Union Square, which is where I found it the other day. Thanks to a sharp-eyed vegan on Twitter for the tip-off that it’s packaged in a generic-looking WF container, otherwise I might have looked right past it. Daiya announced that it’s readying a retail package to launch later this month, and we can expect to begin seeing it carried in more stores (if they know what’s good for ‘em! If not, let’s make some noise and request it!).

Meantime, I got the opportunity to test out this wonder-cheese in my own kitchen for the first time. The verdict: pretty darn good! I made a black bean quesadilla with salsa using the cheddar style of Daiya. Definitely has superior melting properties to other vegan cheeses. The flavor is still not an exact reproduction of milk cheese, but do we need it to be? I scattered some shreds on steamed broccoli last night and it melted like a charm.

The price point is a smidge high but not as high as other vegan brands such as Soya Kaas, and I think it’s worth it. I look forward to trying the other Daiya style: Italian Blend (pizza making, here I come!) and to sampling dishes at the various restaurants around the city that have begun adding Daiya to their menus.

Tell your holdout omnivore friends: Lack of a good cheese alternative is no longer a good excuse for not going vegan!

Follow Daiya on Twitter for the most updated info where to find it. You can also check their website for details.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I will have to find that cheese and try it. I have no problem not eating meat, but the fake cheeses pretty much suck. I like cheese. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

Oh my gosh! That quesadilla looks AMAZING! I wasn’t actually all that excited about another veg cheese, but you’ve changed my mind! MUST HAVE DAIYA!

Comment by Shanna

Thanks! I hate to sound like a saleswoman, but this is one product where I think the hype is merited.

Comment by Carrie M

Hmmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was
super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written
and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog
writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for beginner blog writers?
I’d certainly
appreciate it.

Comment by Taren




Leave a Reply

