A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Breakfast for me
November 2, 2009, 1:04 pm
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , ,

Picture 003

It’s hardest being a vegan when you are outside your element, your own kitchen, your reliable food sources. On a recent weekend trip to the Poconos with 11 friends I mostly ate a lot of tortilla chips. And French fries. For breakfast, though, while everyone else ate scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and pastries, I quietly made myself a tofu scramble on the side. It was my first, and there was no oil or margarine to grease the pan, so I used salsa. And it tasted amazing!

Basic recipe: firm tofu, crumbled; diced onion, red bell pepper and mushrooms; and a splash of salsa. Sauté in pan until heated. Yum!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Minus the onion, salsa and mushroom, this may work.

Comment by Dhaval

Listen to you!

Comment by Carrie M

Everything tastes better with a pitcher of roses nearby.

Comment by fictionadvocate

Many people who read your posts are amazed that you have 11 friends to go somewhere with. That is not common. More than one person has already said that to me about this post. Your life is like that of a 20 year old but with a real job. I am happy for you. Treasure it.

It seems like everyone is too busy with business, wives, husbands, children, and mortgages to do anything with friends much anymore. Being single and having no kids myself I would LOVE to do things with a big group of friends.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

11 friends? Pshaw. It’s probably more like 5 other couples, which means you probably only like half of the pair, and only a few are real friends of yours..

So more like 4 friends and some tag-a-longs, amirite?

Comment by Klaus

Oh my god, so right, Klaus! (Let’s hope none of my so-called friends read this, though.) 🙂

Comment by Carrie M




Leave a Reply

