A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Impromptu Pumpkin Bread
October 25, 2009, 12:12 pm
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , , , ,

IMG_8187

I maintain that baking is the most simple, satisfying, inexpensive, and comforting activity ever. This Sunday morning, I got up and realized I had half a can of pumpkin pie mix to do something with. Without even leaving the apartment to buy extra ingredients, I found a recipe, veganized it, and am now enjoying awesome pumpkin bread!

The original recipe is here: Pumpkin Breads (would reproduce their title here, but it’s grammatically incorrect. “Anyway You Like It”? Really?)

To veganize, use this metric that I just learned: For one egg, replace with 1/4 cup of applesauce and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder. I didn’t add anything into the bread, but did crush some almonds for the top, which I would definitely recommend. Also, if you don’t have pre-mixed “pumpkin pie spice” you can always add, as I did, dashes of any or all of: cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, and allspice.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good job veganizing. I like the addition of the almonds.

Comment by shannonmarie

Oh, wow, that looks great!

Comment by Mo

My god, that is astounding looking. I’m going to vegan bake my ass off this weekend.

Comment by Deborah

Mmm. The almonds on top look very pretty!

Comment by Bonnie




Leave a Reply

