A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Spur-of-the-Moment Bean Dip
October 21, 2009, 3:02 pm
Filed under: Photography, Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , , , , ,

Many of my postings here focus on recipes I’ve tried, but in reality I most often cook sans-directions. I find this really unleashes my creativity as a culinary artiste. (Tongue firmly in cheek there.)

I live in a largely Latin American neighborhood, which limits my in-a-pinch grocery shopping to bodegas stocked mainly with Goya brand items and Tapatio. This is fine with me, because being from California, I’m most at ease cooking foods with a Mexican flair.

For instance, last weekend I whipped up this bean dip to accompany some Saturday afternoon college-football watching. Deeelish.

Picture 108

Here’s basically what went into it:

1 can vegetarian refried beans
Approx. 6 slices vegan cheese
1/3 of a can enchilada sauce

Mix in microwave-safe bowl, cover, and heat for 2 minutes or until melty and heated through. Stir.

Top with:

1 ripe avocado, mashed
1/4 of one jalapeno, finely chopped
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
Garlic powder, lemon juice, salt, and pepper to taste

Stir these together and drop in center of bean dip.  Enjoy with tortilla chips (I prefer blue—who doesn’t?).

 Voilà! Easy cheesy beany!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

