A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Vegan Hostess with the Mostest
October 16, 2009, 12:53 pm
Filed under: Photography, Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , , , ,

I {heart} hosting parties. I love nothing more than to spend way too much money that I don’t actually have on making delicious food for my friends. Gives me a chance to try new recipes, and affords an opportunity for my friends to tell me what a great cook I am. (Joke!)

This past Saturday I hosted a cocktail party and forced vegan hors d’oeuvres on my guests. Not much forcing was required, though, if I do say so myself. Here’s a roundup of what I made. (I apologize for the dark and blurry photos—’tis hard to be a hostess and food photographer at the same time!)

IMG_7943

Crostini with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

I basically followed this recipe at VegCooking, although first I roasted the two cloves of garlic. (Wrap in foil and bake for about 40 minutes.)

That’s a lavender-cucumber vodka martini, there, by the way. Mmmhm. See recipe at the end of the post.

 

IMG_7954

Zucchini Bites

Thanks to the Post Punk Kitchen for this fun little recipe. I couldn’t find  vegan parmesan so instead used rice mozzarella, and I think it worked! Very popular and so easy.

 

IMG_7959

Stuffed Mushrooms

I love Fat Free Vegan Kitchen, and here I modified her Creole Stuffed Mushrooms recipe. Added a bit of vegan butter to the sauteed veggies for extra yumminess, sprinkled rice mozzarella on top, and used simply a variety of herbs and spices instead of a “creole” mix.

 

IMG_7964

Artichoke Puffs

Yay, again, for VegCooking! This recipe turned out pretty well, even when I couldn’t find puff pastry shells and so had to improvise my own. I bought filo dough, cut it into 3″x3″ squares, and pressed a few stacked square sheets into each hole in a mini muffin pan. Got that? Then I baked the sheets until just golden and followed the rest of the recipe. (I always think the best part of cooking is problem solving on the fly. And the more you cook, the better you get at it!)

 

IMG_7969

Fruit Skewers with Strawberry Yogurt Dip

I had a recipe for this but now I can’t find it. Oh well! All you do is put bite-size chunks of fruit (strawberries, kiwi, pineapple, mango, melon, blueberry—whatever’s in season and cheap) on toothpicks. Then you mix strawberry soy yogurt with a bit of agave nectar and lemon or lime juice. This dip is crazy delicious!

Other party hosting notes:

It’s up to you whether you tell your friends that the food is vegan before or after they try it. Some silly people have preconceived notions and you don’t want to bias them against your wonderful creations unnecessarily. All my friends know I’m vegan (I’m not shy about that!) so they assumed my offerings would be, as well.

It might be a good idea to warn people who have allergies, though. I have a friend with tree-nut allergies who ate the almond cheese slices I put out with bread. Luckily no reaction, though, woot! Having a guest go into anaphylactic shock is certainly a party foul.

I also put out little bowls of vegan chocolate chips and cashews, as well as chips & salsa and pretzels. So many easy vegan snacks!

Bonus: Cocktail recipes!

Lavender-Cucumber Vodka Martini
4 oz. vodka
3/4 oz. lavender simple syrup
4 muddled cucumber slices

Double Trouble
4 oz. brandy
3/4 oz. cinnamon simple syrup
3 oz. cranberry juice

For both, shake all ingredients with ice in a shaker. Pour into 2 martini glasses. (Cocktail creations by Brian. Bravo!)

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What are vegan “cheese” and “butter” made of?

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

Thanks for all the great tips! Those drinks sound awesome!

Comment by Mo

That all looks great. What lucky guests!

Comment by Sara Beth




Leave a Reply

