A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Mishmash of Cultures, Plus Central Park Pics
October 12, 2009, 2:52 pm
Filed under: New York miscellany | Tags: , , ,

IMG_7981

I’m currently (passively) watching the Columbus Day parade in NYC on TV. Because yes, I strangely have today off from work while I don’t get many more widely celebrated holidays (e.g. the Jewish holidays) off. Go figure. Now, while we all know that Columbus Day is basically shenanigans, and any thinking person views it with disdain, what I didn’t know is that it’s celebrated across the Americas as Hispanic Day.

Until yesterday, when I had to cross Fifth Avenue to get to Central Park and was confronted by a large parade that was celebrating Latin American heritage. I’m all for celebrations of heritage, but I must say that it seems to be odd to be commemorating the arrival of foreign peoples to your country who then decimated the local populations. I find it very interesting that this could evolve into a fete of the subjugated culture.

I also find it strange that the Columbus Day parade is a festival of Italian heritage, when he was sailing on behalf of Spain. It’s not like Latin American countries are speaking Italian now, are they?

At any rate, look at my photos of the parade and other assorted Central Park randomness on Flickr! (If you please.)

Sunday in Central Park

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t know that Jewish holidays are more widely celebrated in the U.S. than Columbus Day. Maybe it is different on the east coast. I am trying to think of anyone Jewish I have ever known. I don’t think I have ever known one person. What does being Jewish even mean? Just that your parents were Jewish and then you were born? Seems silly. People should not automatically be considered a part of some religion just because their parents believed something. Imagine if there were no Jews, Christians, Muslims, etc., and instead a whole lot of people looking at others as people, instead of contrived groups and enemies.

Here is a great reality check.
“If You’re a Christian, Muslim or Jew – You are Wrong”
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/cenk-uygur/if-youre-a-christian-musl_b_9349.html

Moving on, I really enjoyed your Central Park photos. THAT is what I am talking about. You live with millions of varied people and all I usually get to see are recipes. Since I do not cook… I am very curious about all of the people and things you see. Thanks for sharing.

The gold “street performer” was dressed like Johnny Depp as Willy Wonka.

That was a nice action shot of the juggling kid and also the wedding couple. I like that he was looking at you and you showed so much of the cool trees above. Very nice.

I also like the photo of the breakdancer. It is interesting looking from behind those people.

If you used Photoshop you could turn down the overblown highlights like in the background of the bubble-blowing kid photo. Quite nice bubble by the way.

I had to look up Belvedere Castle. That is very cool.

I have never seen thorns like that with so many different sizes.

Thanks again for sharing. It was a huge relief to finally see some of the city on your site again. I like it.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

Thanks for your comments about my photos, Steven. I really appreciate that.

As far as being Jewish goes, wow, I don’t even know where to begin. You should be aware that it’s also an ethnicity, a culture, and a nationality, beyond just being a religious affiliation. Maybe read this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jew

And in New York, yes, the Jewish holidays are much more widely celebrated. But as no one except public schools and possibly government workers get the high holy days off, my Jewish friends and coworkers have to take personal or vacation days for Yom Kippur, Rosh Hashanah, etc. Which I think is unfair, as we all get Christmas off even if we’re not Christian.

Anyhoo, this is a MUCH larger discussion than we have time for here.

Comment by Carrie M




Leave a Reply

