A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Death of a Million Sebastians
October 2, 2009, 1:49 pm
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , , , , , ,

This pile of crab carcasses from a recent backyard crabfest I attended is enough to make even the more hardcore carnivore go veg.

 8330_138631561892_507661892_2466349_2842007_n

8330_138631716892_507661892_2466354_179691_n

Seriously, I’m sorry to harass you nice vegans with these photos but eek! I just had to share the carnage. Even my friends who were into the idea of going to Brooklyn’s Chinatown to procure live crabs and cook  them got a bit squeamish about the ordeal. (And before you start yelling at me for attending this event at all *cough, Dhaval, cough* go read my agonizing deliberations over at the SuperVegan forum.)

8330_138631651892_507661892_2466352_5893874_n

I cheerfully brought these cute PETA stickers (sometimes that group does something right) as a jovially subversive way to get my friends to think about what they were doing. And I brought an AMAZING homemade “babatahini” dip (combo of baba ghanoush and hummus) and flatbread from my local produce store, Rossman on 3rd Ave. and 26th St in Brooklyn.

 I also wowed the crowd, if I do say so, with this Prospect Park Potato Salad from Veganomicon. Won’t infringe the copyright by reprinting it here—just go buy the damn book. Will say it involves, Vegenaise, fresh dill, mustard, vinegar, and cucumber in a really fun amalgamation.

 31396236

And I still love my omnivore friends, even when they kill things. Maybe one of these days I’ll host a dinner party–slash–lecture on Ahimsa.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love that potato salad! poor little crabs.

Comment by Joan Farkas

“Death of a Million Sebastians” made me laugh and smile. What a title. My friends always catch tons of crawdads(or whatever you want to call them) when we go camping and then boil them and eat them. It has always been disturbing to me and I do not participate.

I have never seen much use for the “snap shots” previews until I hovered over “Ahimsa” and could scroll through the Wikipedia entry. Using it for a definition like that is very useful. I am currently installing the plugin for my own WordPress blog. Thank you.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

Oh my! Oh my oh my oh my.

Comment by Jeni Treehugger




Leave a Reply

