A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Morning Wisdom
September 2, 2009, 9:26 am
Filed under: Green Links, Quotes | Tags: , , , ,

Picture 086

“Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.”

—19th-century Cree proverb

Photo of the Stanislaus River, Calif., by me

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I knew about this quote when I was at school, but I thought that it was an East Indian (from India) quote, it turned out to be native American.

I have published a couple of pollution quotes, one of them is: “Water and air, the two essential fluids on which all life depends, have become global garbage cans.”

Comment by Star Quotes

Hi,
Is this picture of the Stanislaus river called “sourgrass”?

Beautiful,

Caroline

Comment by Caroline

Hi, Caroline! Yes it is! This is just downstream from the Sourgrass Bridge and campground. It’s my happy place. 🙂

Comment by Carrie M

Hi Carrie M.

A Google search for images associated with the familiar Cree Indian proverb above, lead me to your very interesting website …

I’ve now stolen your incredibly appropriate and totally stunning image for my own facebook post. Hope you approve?

I just wanted to acknowledge your great photography here, and hope that you won’t remove me from your Christmas card list!

Nameste

Swami ♡♡♡

Comment by Swami Neelamber

Glad you like it, Swami! And thanks for giving me credit!

Namaste.

Comment by Carrie M




Leave a Reply

