A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Herbivore-licious
September 1, 2009, 10:06 am
Filed under: Bars/restaurants, Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , ,

Lesson No. 6 for a new vegan: When traveling, do research beforehand on veggie restaurants.

herbivoreI learned this the hard way after a trip to Maine that left me adrift in seafood-land. On my recent trip to San Francisco, I was prepared with a list of wonderful veg-friendly eateries. Let’s first discuss Herbivore, which seems to be the go-to vegan café in the city. It has three locations (one in Berkeley) and an extensive brunchy menu that put me in mind of Chicago Diner (also 100% vegan). I made a mad dash to the location on Divisadero on my last day in town, and I was not disappointed!

Picture 248

Actually, I’d read differing views of Herbivore from other vegan bloggers—some saying it was mediocre, some complaining about the service, some praising it to the sky. I’ll go ahead and put myself in that latter category. Since I was on my own, I only got to try one dish, but it was fantastic! I had the grilled “chicken” sandwich with seitan (you have a choice of that or tempeh, tofu, or soy—yay for options!). It came on a deliciously fresh French bread roll with lettuce, tomatoes, red onions, pickles and a garlic-lemon sauce that was delightful. On the side was a surprisingly tasty green salad and “seasoned potatoes” that were really like rosemary French fries. All spectacular.

The waiter was very sweet, even if a little busy. It was the kind of place you could go for a low-key lunch or breakfast with friends, or, like me, take your own little self to. I was not the only one dining alone.

herbivore2The dinner menu looks to me like it’s trying to take on too many cuisines: lasagna, moussaka, kung pao, pad thai … so I may have to try that out when I get back.  But I have a hunch that most of the brunchy items will be great, plus there’s a cute back deck! With also a decent and cheap wine, beer, and cocktail list, Herbivore appears to be a fun, relaxed place for vegans and the people who love them.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I used to go to UC Berkeley and we freaking loved Herbivore. It was just down the block. I’d get carrot cake and that exact same sandwich but on Focaccia. Their Focaccia bread is amazing btw. Their burritos are really weak. I love the ravioli. They make good iced mochas and chocolate chip cookies. And yeah, going there a lot, I found their service hit or miss.

Anyway, glad you liked it. I miss it so much!

Comment by Tracy

next time you’re out here we have to go to Santa Cruz/Capitola…there is this FANTASTIC vegetarian/vegan restaurant that my friend and I go to when in town! Wish I could remember the name, but totally forget it right now!

Comment by Amanda

Ah, here it is: Dharma

Comment by Amanda

“I had the grilled “chicken” sandwich with seitan (you have a choice of that or tempeh, tofu, or soy—yay for options!). It came on a deliciously fresh French bread roll with lettuce, tomatoes, red onions, pickles and a garlic-lemon sauce that was delightful. On the side was a surprisingly tasty green salad and “seasoned potatoes” that were really like rosemary French fries. All spectacular.”

I don’t know what seitan and tempeh are. They look like typos. I will look them up. I would get that sandwich without the lettuce, tomatoes, red onions, and pickles since I like none of those. The rosemary fries sound good, but without the green salad.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe




Leave a Reply

