A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Fun with Chickpea Salad
July 31, 2009, 9:47 am
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , ,

Picture 018

I am a lover of sandwiches. Back in my omnivore days, I loved nothing so much as a good turkey sandwich. Now, I’ve been experimenting with sandwich fillings that don’t involve the death of an innocent creature. I kept seeing recipes for garbanzo bean salad that would mimic the flavors and texture of tuna salad, and I was intrigued. I adapted this one, from AllRecipes.com. Here’s my version:

Chickpea Salad

  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and mashed
  • 2 tablespoons Vegenaise
  • 2 teaspoons spicy brown mustard
  • 2 small or 1 large pickle, diced
  • 1/2 of 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • dash of paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Mix all together in a small bowl. Spread between two slices of bread of your choice. Voilà!

    The only time-consuming part is the mashing of the garbanzo beans. (This is about the eighth time this month that I’ve longed for a potato masher or mortar & pestle or some other such mashing device. Sigh. Suppose I should just buy one.) Feel free to fiddle with the amount and type of pickles and onions. Mine is pretty pickley, but I like it that way. You could also try green onions, and if you’re lazy, use relish instead of chopping up pickles.

    Picture 024

    3 Comments so far
    Leave a comment

    There’s a vegan chicken salad sandwich that is made at Teany cafe (currently reconstructing after fire incident).

    I’ve made that at home using seitan, celery, vegainnaise and some spices. It turns out incredible and tastes blissful on toasted marble rye bread with slices of vine tomatoes.

    Comment by Dhaval M.

    Looks like a good recipe! I’ll have to try it. You can also add seaweed such as kelp flakes or dulse granules, or nori sheets finely chopped in a food processor; I’ve done that in chickpea salad. If you let it sit overnight in the fridge the seaweed gives it a slight fishy flavor that’s quite similar to tuna!

    Oh, and if you’re ever in Baltimore Maryland, I had the best chicken-salad-esque sandwich ever at a place called Liquid Earth. Almost worth a trip to Baltimore in itself. 🙂

    Comment by teambaby

    That’s funny because whenever I’ve mashed up garbanzo beans they remind me of tuna! Yours even looks like tuna salad – scary!

    Comment by wannabeavegan




    Leave a Reply

