A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Morning Wisdom
July 30, 2009, 9:07 am
Filed under: Buddhism, Quotes | Tags: , ,

buddha_lotus“It is not enough to be compassionate. You must act. There are two aspects to action. One is to overcome the distortions and afflictions of your own mind, that is, in terms of calming and eventually dispelling anger. This is action out of compassion. The other is more social, more public. When something needs to be done in the world to rectify the wrongs, if one is really concerned with benefitting others, one needs to be engaged, involved.”

— His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi,
I was wondering where you got your Buddha picture. I’m a student and I’m making a non-commercial magazine, and I was hoping to use that photo as out cover. However, i need the artist’s permission.
Any help is welcome,
Miranda

Comment by Miranda

Hi, Miranda! Thanks for looking. While I usually endeavor to only use my own photos or credited photos with the artist’s permission, this is one that slipped through the cracks. I’ve no idea where I got it. If you do a Google image search for “buddha lotus,” though, you can find several other blogs that use it. Perhaps you can contact those blog owners and find out.

Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful! Good luck.

Comment by Carrie M

Where did you get the picture of the Buddha face with that lotus flower and blue background? I would LOVE to use it on my website but of course would like to get permission from whoever that photo belongs to.

Thanks for you help!
Jessica

Comment by Jessica

sorry, disregard my comment, just saw the one above! 🙂

Comment by Jessica




Leave a Reply

