A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Vegan Boxed Mac & Cheese
July 23, 2009, 12:00 pm
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , , , ,

IMG_6955

One of the greatest things about going vegan is that it has forced me to eat less processed food. When you make meals from scratch, you have control over the ingredients and can ensure no unwanted products or chemicals sneak in there.

But I was at Whole Foods the other day and came across this boxed, dairy-free mac & cheese from Road’s End Organics, and thought I’d give it a whirl. (Note, in the few years before going vegan I’d been eating a lot of boxed mac, usually mixed with beans and other veggies. So I have kind of been missing the ease and simplicity of it.)

IMG_6949

The verdict: Not bad! I added some nutritional yeast because I didn’t think it tasted cheezy enough. I kept it plain, as you can see, for comparison purposes to regular mac & cheese. I might buy it again, but I’d rather try out one of the many “from scratch” vegan macaroni and cheese recipes out there. Home-baked is always better!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi, Thank you for the mac and cheeze info! My son is allergic to dairy, egg and soy, so feeding him quick “normal” kid food is a challenge. I cook for vegan-no-soy for him, but this Road’s End looks like it make work. Thanks so much. I’m glad I found your blog.

Comment by Nicole

Yay for themed blogs…

Comment by Klaus

Nicole, thanks so much for looking and commenting! I hope you also check out the links on the left under “Vegan,” which will lead you to other great resources that you might find helpful.

Comment by Carrie M

Veganism is about sacrifice, not cheating the system so you can feel better about yourself. Artificial dairy may not physically come from a cow, but you’re still craving in essence of the barbarism of cheese. Should we start handing out sex offender rape simulating computer games to satisfy their violent, criminal urges? Does wearing fake fur suddenly make the idea of draping yourself in dead animal suddenly sanitary and somehow “appropriate”? Veganism, at its core, is about social improvement. It is a struggle, an eschewing of our culture’s dietary bondage. It is not a feel-good movement where we can simply go about living our lives as we always have, only with guilt-free alternatives. Give me a break.

Comment by Tym

Tym,

Your thoughts are applaudable.

Your approach is militant.

There is nothing wrong with enjoying life responsibly and in moderation.

Indulgence and denying yourself pleasure are two polar opposites.

I firmly believe that to truly be vegan; we must practice understanding and love towards all beings. That does not mean just in what we eat daily, but in how we interact with human beings and animals – with kindness, understanding and empathy.

Love and Love.

Comment by Dhaval M.

That’s a valid point, Tym, and everyone is allowed their own point of view about how far they want to take their veganism. However, I agree with Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, author of “The Face on Your Plate,” that for those of us brought up in Western countries like the U.S. who become vegan as adults, it’s difficult to overcome our culturization. That is, if we were brought up eating cheese and dairy products, even when realize how abhorrent those products are we still sometimes desire an old favorite comfort food, like cheesy nachos, say. I don’t crave real cheese or dairy milk. But I do find it acceptable to put almond milk in my coffee or to have nut cheese on a pizza. I don’t think this means there’s part of me that secretly still wants cows to be killed, and I don’t think it hurts the movement. I think it actually serves as a positive example to meat-eaters that the vegan lifestyle isn’t crazy, wacko, or hard to maintain. In fact, you can still have most of your favorite foods, but without harming animals or the environment.

Thank you for your comments!

Comment by Carrie M




Leave a Reply

