A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Vegan love from the NY Times!
July 22, 2009, 3:30 pm
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , ,

22mini600_1a

I am so thrilled that the New York Times chose to respect all kinds of eaters by breaking out today’s list of 101 Simple Salads for the Season into (mostly) vegan, vegetarian, seafood, and meat categories. That is oh so nice of them! And it appears they have a decent handle on what vegan means, because the first salad listed under “vegetarian” is only not vegan because it contains honey. Sweet!

Of course, nearly all of the vegetarian salads can be made vegan by using non-dairy cheese and omitting eggs, and even the meat ones can be made meat-free or with faux-meat products. Great list! I want for to go buy salad fixings right now!

 

Photo by Francesco Tonelli for The New York Times

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m pooping reality and it smells like truth.
The article states “almost vegan” not “vegan.”

Just saying. Enjoy the lovely fragrance of TRUTH.

Boo yeah!

Kinetic energy master blaster.

Comment by Dhaval M.

And I noticed you did infuse the beautiful truth into your original post, so my last post was just me being silly.

Enjoy the fragrance of truth.

Observing kinetic energy.

Comment by Dhaval M.

Yay for salads! I saw this article and immediately thought it would be good for your blog. [Also, I might hate interns talking loudly about their favorite hummus while I’m trying to work, but I thoroughly enjoy your blog articles with recipes and pics of the stuff!]

Comment by msnowe

Thanks! I think the problem is that interns should not be talking about hummus, they should be blogging about it. Obviously. 🙂

Comment by Carrie M




Leave a Reply

