A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


I {heart} hummus
July 16, 2009, 10:16 am
Filed under: Vegan, Vegetarian | Tags: , , , ,

Another post about hummus? What, I’m vegan and lazy: I eat a lot of hummus.

But the other day I for the first time soaked and cooked up my own chickpeas to make hummus, instead of using canned. It’s shocking that I got to this age without realizing how tasty and inexpensive it is to cook your own beans. Who knew? (Answer: lots of people, just not me.)

So, here’s my hummus.

Picture 107

And here’s the recipe. I have been making hummus for years and every time I add different stuff to it. Next up, pesto! This one, though, is:

Spicy Three-Pepper Hummus

 Ingredients:

 4 cups of cooked garbanzo beans (or 2 cans, lazypants)
4 tablespoons tahini (adjust amount to your liking)
¼ cup lemon juice
¼ cup water, reserved cooking liquid or canned liquid (more or less, depending on the consistency you want)
1 red bell pepper, roasted and chopped
1 jalapeño, chopped
1 chili pepper, chopped
salt
pepper
Optional: ¼ cup olive oil. I don’t really like olive oil in my hummus, but some people do. Up to you.
Optional: chili powder, crushed red pepper, and/ or paprika (if you want it hotter or smokier)

Preparation:

Roast the red bell pepper by slicing into strips, removing seeds, and broiling for a few minutes until skin starts to blacken. Remove skin.

Combine in a blender the beans, tahini, and lemon juice (and olive oil, if you’re using it). Add water slowly, blending between additions, until desired consistency is reached. Add roasted red bell pepper, jalapeño, chili pepper, and salt and pepper to taste. Feel free to add other hot spices if you like.

Voilà!  Serve with dipping tool of your choice: carrots, broccoli, radishes, cauliflower, pita wedges, tortilla chips … you get the idea.  Or spread it on a sandwich or bagel. Go crazy.

Note: Most hummus uses garlic, and you can add a clove or two if you want. I don’t think it’s necessary, and I think the garlic might overwhelm the pepper flavors. (Plus, if you leave it out your Jain friends can also enjoy your hummus. Woot.)

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Delicious!

I remember the first time that my Husband called me from home and told me that he made Hummus by hand. I was so proud of him. (*note* He can barely boil pasta correctly. I don’t know how he didn’t screw up the hummus!)

Comment by Robin B.

What does “Jain” mean?

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jainism

Comment by Carrie M

omnomnomnom.

Comment by Shawn




Leave a Reply

