A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Pizza pizza!
July 8, 2009, 12:05 pm
Filed under: Bars/restaurants, South Park Slope, Vegan, Vegetarian

lucali

I am pretty tired of hearing New Yorkers and the New York media discuss whatever is the hot new (invariably crazy expensive) pizza joint. I do enjoy a good pizza, and since moving here several years ago I’ve come to understand the particular New York kind of “pie”—thin, crispy crust; small amount of sauce; few choice toppings, coal- or wood-fired-oven-baked if you can find it.  (Thanks to my friend Andy for taking me to Lombardi’s in NoLita my first week in town to introduce me to the real thing.)

lucali2I’m still working on finding a really great pizza place with vegan cheese options (I have been underwhelmed by Viva and Vinnie’s.)  Meanwhile, Frank Bruni expounds today in the Times on the “new wave” of pizzerias in the city: Crust Is a Canvas for Pizza’s New Wave

A few notes:

1) I keep hearing about Lucali in Carroll Gardens, with its $34 pizzas. And there’s a rumor around that another location will be opening in the South Slope (near my house) at 6th Ave. and 20th St.

2) That would be interesting, because Toby’s Public House opened nearby on 6th Ave. last year, and they have fantastic pizza, as well as a great community vibe.

lucali33) Frank Bruni actually mentions Toby’s, which is nice, and—interestingly—says it’s in the neighborhood of “Greenwood Heights,” a moniker for my nabe that I’ve been hoping will catch on because it fairly accuratelydescribes  a spot that historically has been difficult to explain. (Below South Slope, above Sunset Park, between the Gowanus Expressway and Green-Wood Cemetery.) I’m going to say the Times lends G’Wood Heights legitimacy. Woot!

4) While it might be easy for vegans to dismiss a  story about cheese-y pizza places, I think it’s worth mentioning that cheese is often not the focus of these high-end pizzas. And it can easily be removed without damaging the integrity of the other great ingredients involved, either before or after ordering. So buck up, veggies, we can have overpriced pizza, too!

Top photo: Artichoke pizza at Lucali. Middle: Oven at Motorino. Bottom: Margherita pizza at Co. All by Evan Sung for the New York Times

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love pizza. Pizza loves me back. The end.

Comment by Dhaval M.

Dhaval is also a fake vegan who eats cheese on his pizza. Sometimes. 🙂

Comment by Carrie M

A vegan is defined to me by the non-violence in thought and action.

Have a bliss filled day.

Comment by Dhaval M.




Leave a Reply

