A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


New fave vegan movie snack
July 7, 2009, 5:18 pm
Filed under: Vegan | Tags: , , , ,

If you’re lucky enough to have the opportunity to stop by a health food store on your way to the movies (and I highly recommend it—saves you money and you know you’ll have vegan options), let me suggest this:

brmVwrap_largeGlenny’s Marshmallow Treats. Packaged “Rice Krispies” treats can be really bad, so I bought these with low expectations, but they are actually quite good! Gluten-free, organic, and vegan—yippee!

I’m off to see “Public Enemies” tonight and may very well snag one of these on the way.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Movie film contains several layers of gelatin used for bonding the film together! You should boycott the theater.

::sets a small fire::

Comment by Internet Rioter

Huh. I had to look that up. Internet Rioter is absolutely right. Apparently all film uses gelatin, which is derived from the collagen inside animals’ skin and bones. I did not know that.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

You could try only going to movie theaters that use digital projection. That doesn’t get rid of the original film though. Maybe just can just watch Star Wars over and over. No, I wouldn’t wish those later three movies on anyone.

Here are a few more.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_cinematography#List_of_major_films_shot_in_digital

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

-just +you

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

Those marshmallow treats are absolutely yuck once you’ve had homemade ones. Try using Sweet & Sara marshmallows and organic Rice Krispies cereal.

I’ve known about film containing gel all the time that’s why I made all mine using digital technology. And I had even planned on shooting only digital throughout my filmmaking career if I ever went into it big time.

But yeah, I’m OK with it at this point, I have no control over it.

Comment by Dhaval M.

Nice comment, Dhaval.

Your website is confusing, though.

What’s with all the tiles?

Comment by Klaus




Leave a Reply

