A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Marching with MENY
June 25, 2009, 1:32 pm
Filed under: LGBT | Tags: , ,

 

marquee4

After much debate, I’ve decided to march with Marriage Equality New York in the NYC Pride parade this Sunday. Thanks to everyone who voted in my poll! 

They win because I think they are going to be a big, raucous group, with floats and cars and marchers. Plus, they are teaming up with the city of Amsterdam! The Netherlands has had legal same-sex marriage since 2001 (and the world has not ended nor the institution of heterosexual marriage imploded—imagine that). Quick, someone tell me how to say something cute in Dutch!

And check out this new Times story about the deputy mayor of Amsterdam, who will, I believe, be marching with us: Gay Marriage Gets a Dutch Boost

Let me know if you’d like to join in the march and I’ll get you hooked up. Should be lots of fun. The MENY group is lined up in the fourth spot of the whole parade!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Can I walk in part of the parade, and then duck out, or do I have to be in it to win it, all day?

Comment by fictionadvocate

I think people can bow out, if they want. You just can’t get back in. Lineup is at 11, and since we will be in the front of the parade, I don’t think it’ll last more than a few hours.

Comment by Carrie M




Leave a Reply

