A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Roofs are for more than parties
June 17, 2009, 11:08 am
Filed under: Green Links

17roof650_5

Yes! Everyone grow vegetables on your roof!

Urban Farming, a Bit Closer to the Sun

As this story in today’s Times indicates, this is a growing (bad intentional pun) activity tied to the sustainable, local agriculture movement. But you don’t have to be an environmentalist to appreciate homegrown veggies. I have had surprisingly good results planting rooftop gardens. I particularly recommend radishes, bell peppers, hot peppers, tomatoes, and eggplant as varieties that seem to work well. But just hit up your local plant stand or Home Depot and go crazy!

Photo by Robert Wright for the New York Times.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

She looks like she just got back from the New York marathon to check on her garden.

Comment by Klaus

I don’t like radishes, tomatoes, or eggplant, but peppers are good. I keep not having time to work on my yard and plants. If I had a whole weekend off sometime I could get caught up.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

Also, why don’t you have a picture of your own rooftop garden? That I would like to see.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

I couldn’t afford a rooftop garden this year. I can send you photos of previous years.

Comment by Carrie M




Leave a Reply

