A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Ode to hummus
June 16, 2009, 6:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized, Vegan | Tags: ,

2227998009_546c20b0e0_b

So, I’ve always been a hummus fan. Okay, that’s not entirely accurate. I didn’t discover hummus (or most foods of a more “ethnic” origination than my own) until college or after. But when I did, I found it quite tasty. A puree made basically of chickpeas (garbanzo beans), tahini (sesame paste), and lemon juice, hummus’s exact derivation is hard to pin down. But it definitely came from the Middle East a long time ago (to be exact).

As I became more culinarily adept in my early 20s, I learned that it’s actually quite easy to make hummus yourself. And so many doors this opens! You can control the amount of garlic and olive oil you put in. You can go crazy with flavors: sun-dried tomato, pesto, roasted red pepper, olive, jalapeno!

And since I became vegan, I’ve been eating hummus a lot. And a lot of hummus. I’m not sure why it is. Maybe my body is craving the protein? Maybe because you can dip almost any foodstuff in hummus and it will taste amazing? Maybe because it’s a cheap, healthy meal or snack and I am poor?

I don’t know. But I just thought that hummus and its salty, beany, fantastically tasty qualities deserved another accolade. So here it is.

Also, here’s my super basic hummus recipe, which can be jazzed up however you like:

Easy Hummus

2 cans chickpeas, drained (reserve liquid)

1 clove garlic

¼ cup tahini

3 tablespoons lemon juice

Salt, pepper to taste

Dash of paprika

Place garlic in food processor or blender. Process until minced. Add chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, ¼ cup of reserved liquid, salt, and pepper. Process until blended. Add more liquid or water as needed until desired consistency is reached. Sprinkle with paprika.

Then, blend in any other ingredients you like for flavor.  

Photo by hazy jenius on Flickr, used under Creative Commons license.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

have you tried hummous at Sahadi’s? It’s on atlantic in cobble hill and is the best hummous i’ve ever had, hands down.

Comment by Andy Lin

Also, hummous in seattle is nasty.

Comment by Andy Lin

Also, we have hummous in our fridge.

Comment by Klaus

Also, I misspelled it because the people above misspelled it… or did they?

Comment by Klaus

Wikipedia says: “Hummus (a transliteration of the Arabic: حمّص‎; also spelled hamos, houmous, hommos, hommus, hummos, hummous or humus; see romanization of Arabic)”

So, KV, spell it however your little heart desires!

Comment by Carrie M

I spell it chummus and take it stirred, not refrigerated and WITHOUT GARLIC.

Comment by Dhaval M.

I almost, just for you, Dhaval, put a note,”To make Jain, do not include garlic.”

Comment by Carrie M

Garlic has no place being in hummus. That’s like saying you want to eat grapes with hot sauce. Just unnatural.

Comment by Dhaval M.

Mmm, grapes and hot sauce …

Comment by Carrie M

Arabic words are often constructed by taking three consonants and fitting different vowels between them. So the important thing in spelling a word like “hummus” is that you have the H-M-S sounds in order. Beyond that, there’s probably some wiggle room in transliterating the vowels because they aren’t as crucial in the original Arabic.

Comment by fictionadvocate




Leave a Reply

