A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Someone please buy me these books …
June 14, 2009, 5:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

… as I am poor, and I have wanted them for some time. 🙂

essence_gita_160

The Essence of the Bhagavad Gita: Explained By Paramhansa Yogananda.
Why I like it:
I read a poetic, lovely translation of the Gita recently, and now I want to read it again with a good commentary. And this is one of the best I’ve seen.

inner-tradition-of-yoga-cover

The Inner Tradition of Yoga: A Guide to Yoga Philosophy for the Contemporary Practitioner by Michael Stone.
Why I like it: All of us who started out doing yoga from a secular perspective know that it becomes clear pretty quickly that there is so much more fulfillment to be had from it when you go beyond its physical aspects.

33871915

Becoming Enlightened by His Holiness the Dalai Lama.
Why I like it: There are like a zillion books by/about the Dalai Lama. I’ve thumbed through lots of them, and read a couple, and know that this is the kind of book I’m looking for: not a transcript of his speeches from one conference years ago or snippets of interviews, but a book that works as a whole narrative of his philosophy.

The Little Book of Hindu Deities: From the Goddess of Wealth to the Sacred Cow by Sanjay Patel
Why I like it: C’mon, what’s not to like? So cute!

51Q3YKVWFWL__SL500_

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

