A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


Blueberry-Banana Bread … mmm
June 11, 2009, 4:33 pm
Filed under: Vegan

I love love love the blog Fat Free Vegan Kitchen. The author not only creates delightful recipes, but she takes amazing photos of the finished products. Fantastic.

Last night I made her Blueberry-Banana Bread recipe, and I think it turned out pretty well. This is the kind of cooking I’m trying to do more of lately—using simple, wholesome ingredients. I encourage you to go take a look at the recipe, which I won’t reproduce here, and try it out yourself. It was incredibly easy.

I will say that I used whole wheat flour, which made the bread very hearty. I might suggest upping the amount of banana and blueberry if you’d like something a little more flavorful and dessert-like. I really enjoyed using agave nectar for the first time, which lends a sweetness that’s not cloying or too powerful like refined sugar can be.

And here are my not-so-great photos of my finished product!

Picture 149

Picture 154

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oooo! I never thought to add blueberries! We have both fruits at home ready for baking…thanks for the recipe! 🙂

Comment by Amanda

That looks pretty darn good.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe




Leave a Reply

