A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn


The revolving door of South Slope
June 9, 2009, 7:25 pm
Filed under: Bars/restaurants, South Park Slope | Tags: , , ,

It’s been fun and also alarming to watch the tendrils of gentrification creeping themselves ever closer to my apartment in South Park Slope/Greenwood Heights over the past three years. One thing I’ve learned is that it’s not a linear process. Many new establishments have opened on Fifth and Sixth Avenues below 17th Street (Ellis Bar, Adam’s Wine, Toby’s Public House, Safe Haven, Eurotrip, Suki Sushi, Southside Coffee) but others have already shut their doors.

Take Vin Rouge, a great little wine bar that opened in 2007 and then closed this January. I loved that place, but you know it’s bad when you’re perpetually the only person there (and not just because it means you’re drinking too much wine).

KitchenBar, in happier days

KitchenBar, in happier days

The latest victim seems to be KitchenBar, which was my favorite funky café in the neighborhood, even though their food was hit or miss.  I spent several special occasions there, and of course a brunch or three. But sometime in recent weeks it’s closed down completely, with newspaper over the windows.

This week I noticed work going on inside and new fancy signage posted for something called “Lot 2.” My guess is that this will be a bar/lounge or higher end tapas-nibbles-cocktails place. Gowanus Lounge reported in January that the space was up for sale, so I’m assuming it’s not just some reincarnation of KitchenBar.

Those owners seem to be doing better with Toby’s, a family-friendly, wood-fired pizza and beer joint that’s often packed. So, best of luck to them and I’ll keep my eye on Lot 2, whatever it may turn out to be.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You have no general comments section so here I am. I knew those were lupine leaves before I read it because I just bought two big beautiful lupine plants for my yard, one red and one blue.

I see you went with WordPress. You will have way more options and flexibility now.

I have to tell you, every time I think of the title to this blog I smile and laugh out loud. Wonderful and hilarious. I don’t know why it gets to me so much.

Have a great day/night,

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

Whoa! I was just about to say how cool that popup of my site is when you hover over my name. Then I saw how old it is. It is a window into the past. That is from ages ago. If you look you will see that there is a smiling photo of you in the little window.

Comment by Steven Morrisroe

That is totally weird and funny! I wonder how/when that snapshot of your site was created. That photo’s from Thanksgiving two years ago.

Comment by Carrie

Love the new blog!

Is this “revolving door” typical for your neighborhood or is it more so due to the economy. I’ve noticed businesses that have been around for years, struggling and eventually succumbing to bankruptcy. Hope the new place is good, and fun.

Comment by Sunny

And thanks for bringing “me” along. 🙂

Comment by Sunny

[…] doesn’t mean indelibly bizarre. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)The revolving door of South Slope2003 August Xanga ArchivesTrials and TribulationsComing up: BlackInformant.com book […]

Pingback by Update on KitchenBar space « A Lotus Grows in Brooklyn




Leave a Reply

